CJHL announces its initial Top 20 Rankings for 2019

CALGARY, Alta. – A new year is upon us and the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s initial Top 20 Rankings for 2019 are out.

Beginning January as the No. 1 rated club in the 133-team CJHL is the 2019 Canadian National Jr. A Championship-host Brooks Bandits (AJHL).

Brooks has won 13 straight games and sit atop the AJHL standings with a solid 37-3-0 record after 40 outings while having scored 218 times and giving up just 92.

At No. 2 nationally, the Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL) boast a 23-2-1-1 mark with only a pair of regulation setbacks to date.

The Oakville Blades (OJHL) earn the No. 3 slot in the listings and have gone 34-4-1-2 overall and sport the best winning percentage in their 22-team league at .855.

Up to No. 4 in the rankings are the Summerside Western Capitals (MHL). They have played .821 hockey to date and sit with a 23-5-0 record in the Maritimes entering play this week.

Rounding out the Top 5 are the 27-3-2-1 Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ) as they hold down first place over in Quebec in the 13-team standings there, six points clear of the Titan de Princeville, who are also in the overall rankings.

CJHL Top 20 Rankings (As of Jan. 7)
1. Brooks Bandits (AJHL) (1)
2. Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL) (2)
3. Oakville Blades (OJHL) (3)
4. Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) (5)
5. Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ) (4)
6. Portage Terriers (MJHL) (7)
7. Yarmouth Jr. ‘A’ Mariners (MHL) (6)
8. North York Rangers (OJHL) (10)
9. Sherwood Park Crusaders (AJHL) (8)
10. Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL) (9)
11. Swan Valley Stampeders (MJHL) (14)
12. Titan de Princeville (LHJAAAQ) (11)
13. Hawkesbury Hawks (CCHL) (HM)
14. Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL) (12)
15. Brockville Braves (CCHL) (HM)
16. Nipawin Hawks (SJHL) (17)
17. College Français de Longueuil (LHJAAAQ) (NR)
18. Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) (NR)
19. Kirkland Lake Gold Miners (NOJHL) (NR)
20. Kindersley Klippers (SJHL) (HM)

HONOURABLE MENTION: Prince George Spruce Kings (BCHL); Steinbach Pistons (MJHL); Cobourg Cougars (OJHL); Rockland Nationals (CCHL); Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL)