Maritime Junior Hockey League announces Canadian Tire Cup

Maritime Junior Hockey League Interim President Dave Ritcey holds the Canadian Tire Cup, surrounded by the MHL Board of Governors at a recent meeting in Amherst, N.S. (Photo: James Faulkner)

TRURO, N.S. – The Maritime Junior Hockey League (MHL) is proud to announce a new multi-year agreement that will see Canadian Tire secured as the title sponsor of the league’s playoffs and the championship trophy. The Canadian Tire Cup will be awarded to the MHL’s playoff champion beginning in the current 2018-19 season.

“Hockey plays an important role in the lives of Canadians: from a kid’s first pair of skates to their final goal in overtime, hockey has the power to unite families and rally the nation,” said Allan MacDonald, Executive Vice-President, Retail, Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited. “As title sponsor of the Canadian Tire Cup, we are proud to help inspire competition among players, celebrations by fans, and unity in communities within the Maritime Junior Hockey League.”

The Canadian Tire Cup playoffs will begin in mid-March. Four teams qualify from each division, the Eastlink North and Eastlink South, and three playoff rounds follow. The Canadian Tire Cup will be presented to the league champion in late April.

“On behalf of the Maritime Junior Hockey League Board of Governors, I’m pleased to welcome Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited to the MHL family as our League Championship titled sponsor,” said MHL Interim President and Chairman of the Board Dave Ritcey. “This multi-year partnership provides us with the opportunity to create a unique and memorable experience throughout the championship season, which will be known as the Canadian Tire Cup playoffs.”

The Callaghan Cup became the exclusive trophy of the Maritime Junior A Hockey League beginning in the 1991-92 season. It remained as such until the 2005-06 season when the trophy was replaced by the Kent Cup. After eleven seasons, the trophy again changed, this time to the Maritime Hockey League Championship in 2016-17.

Established in 1967, the Maritime Junior Hockey League is comprised of twelve teams across New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. Since 1995, the league has produced seven Fred Page Cup Eastern Canadian Champions and two Royal Bank Cup National Champions.

Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited, (TSX: CTC.A) (TSX: CTC) or “CTC”, is a family of businesses that includes a Retail segment, a Financial Services division and CT REIT. Our retail business is led by Canadian Tire, which was founded in 1922 and provides Canadians with products for life in Canada across its Living, Playing, Fixing, Automotive and Seasonal & Gardening divisions. PartSource and Gas+ are key parts of the Canadian Tire network. The Retail segment also includes Mark’s, a leading source for casual and industrial wear; Pro Hockey Life, a hockey specialty store catering to elite players; and SportChek, Hockey Experts, Sports Experts, National Sports, Intersport and Atmosphere, which offer the best active wear brands. The 1,700 retail and gasoline outlets are supported and strengthened by our Financial Services division and the tens of thousands of people employed across Canada and around the world by the Company and its local dealers, franchisees and petroleum retailers. In addition, Canadian Tire Corporation owns and operates Helly Hansen, a leading global brand in sportswear and workwear based in Oslo, Norway. For more information, visit .

Media Contact:
James Faulkner
Director of Communications
Maritime Hockey League

Dave Ritcey
Interim President
Maritime Hockey League