Makar becomes 10th CJHL alumnus to capture Hobey Baker Award

Also becomes 1st former CJHL defenceman to earn the laurels

CALGARY, Alta. – When former Canadian Junior Hockey League standout Cale Makar was presented the 2019 Hobey Baker Award Friday as the top player in U.S. collegiate hockey, he became the 10th former CJHLer to garner the accolades.

The CJHL Most Valuable Player and Top Defenceman honouree in 2017, after starring for the Brooks Bandits (AJHL), earned the laurels after a standout campaign at the University of Massachusetts. He also becomes the first ex-CJHL blueliner to pick-up the honour.

For Makar, who opted to forego his final two years of NCAA eligibility and sign with the NHL’s Colorado Avalanche Sunday, who selected him in the first round, fourth overall, in the 2017 NHL Draft, he capped off his shortened college career with 49 points in 41 outings on 16 goals and 33 assists in 2018-19.

The last CJHL alum to win the Hobey Baker was former Salmon Arm Silverbacks (BCHL) standout Ryan Duncan, who earned the award while at the University of North Dakota.

Among the other notable former CJHL recipients of this honour was Hockey Hall of Fame Honoured Member Paul Kariya (Penticton Panthers, BCHL) while at Maine in 1993 and Tony Hrkac (Orillia Terriers, OJHL) in 1987 at North Dakota.

That year Hrkac set a NCAA record for points in a season at 116, which still stands today, before going on to a lengthy NHL career.

The initial winner of the Hobey Baker Award was current Vegas Golden Knights general manager George McPhee back in 1982, the first year the trophy was presented. McPhee played his Jr. A hockey with the Guelph Platers (OJHL).

CJHL alumni – Hobey Baker Award winners

2019 Cale Makar D Umass Hockey East Brooks Bandits AJHL
2007 Ryan Duncan F North Dakota WCHA Salmon Arm Silverbacks BCHL
2004 Junior Lessard F Minnesota-Duluth WCHA Portage Terriers MJHL
1999 Jason Krog F New Hampshire Hockey East Chilliwack Chiefs BCHL
1997 Brendan Morrison F Michigan CCHA Penticton Panthers BCHL
1993 Paul  Kariya F Maine Hockey East Penticton Panthers BCHL
1992 Scott Pellerin F Maine Hockey East Notre Dame Hounds SJHL
1987 Tony Hrkac F North Dakota WCHA Orillia Terriers OJHL
1985 Bill Watson F Minnesota-Duluth WCHA Prince Albert Raiders SJHL
1982 George McPhee F Bowling Green CCHA Guelph Platers OJHL