Chris Van Os-Shaw, Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL), named 2017-18 CJHL MVP

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League has announced that Chris Van Os-Shaw of the Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL) has been named its Most Valuable Player for the 2017-18 season.

Van Os-Shaw captured the award following voting completed by each of the 10-member Jr. ‘A’ leagues that comprise the CJHL.

He earned the honour over fellow CJHL MVP finalists Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild (BCHL); Dexter Kuczek, Winnipeg Blues (MJHL); Andrew Petrucci, Toronto Patriots (OJHL) and Layne Young, Battlefords North Stars (SJHL).

The 20-year-old Regina, Sask., product was earlier named the CJHL’s Top Forward award recipient for the 2017-18 campaign.

Van Os-Shaw, the AJHL scoring champion this season, claimed the Ernie Love Trophy, after wrapping up the year with an impressive 97 points, including 51 goals.

His tally total marked the first time in 12 years that an AJHL player reached the 50-plus goal plateau.

The last to do so was former Bonnyville Pontiacs standout and current Columbus Blue Jackets forward Mark Letestu back in 2005-2006.

In all, Van Os-Shaw topped his league in goals, points, point-per-game average (1.6) and game-winning goals (8).

Also tabbed the AJHL’s MVP, he was recognized as one of their Stars of the Game 15 times throughout the regular season while also capturing AJHL Player of the Week honours twice.

Among his other laurels, he was selected AJHL Player of the Month Award for January.

Van Os-Shaw has committed to a NCAA Division One scholarship to Minnesota State in Mankato, Minn., where he will attend school and play for the Mavericks program, who are members of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association.

With files from Charla Flett, Vice-President, Communications (AJHL)

Photo credit: Sean Mascaluk, Pro Sports Photography